Which wage portage contract?

weepo - Contrat de portage salarial

When a freelancer wishes to benefit from the same advantages as an employee, he now has the possibility of considering wage portage as a solution. Employees in wage portage benefit from many advantages in terms of remuneration, insurance, training, unemployment, etc. This type of service is available under different forms of contract. So which wage portage contract should you choose for your business? What are the differences between wage portage and CDI ?

What is wage portage?

Wage portage is a solution offered to people who carry out freelance assignments so that they benefit from the same advantages as employees. Indeed, a freelancer will be able to manage his services and clients in complete freedom, but must nevertheless manage a certain number of administrative and accounting tasks as part of his activity.

What's more, he does not have to not have access to the advantages found in employment such as job security, unemployment, access to attractive health insurance, reimbursement of professional expenses, etc. If being self-employed is very suitable for some professionals, others would prefer to continue to fuel their turnover with certain advantages, and this is precisely what wage portage offers.

How it works ?

Wage portage is based on a three-way relationship between the umbrella company, the self-employed person and the client company. The freelancer continues his commercial canvassing as he is used to as well as the performance of his services. Instead of billing the client company for its mission, it is the umbrella company that will take care of it. It will then take a percentage of the figure achieved within the framework of the mission and then pay a monthly salary to the freelancer. The latter is linked to the portage company by an employment contract, which allows him to obtain the status of employee.

In other words, the self-employed person changes status by joining the holding company, but continues to carry out its activity as it sees fit. The portage company then becomes an intermediary between the self-employed person and his client to take charge of various accounting and administrative procedures and is also responsible for remuneration. The entrepreneur will therefore benefit from employee status from now on, and therefore from all the advantages that flow from it throughout the period during which he is under contract with the portage company.

What are the benefits of wage portage?

Being a freelancer gives you great freedom on a daily basis, but it also has certain disadvantages, such as being quite alone in your freelance activity, having to perform various administrative and accounting tasks, particularly related to invoicing or payment of dues, all without the advantages of a business in the traditional sense of the term. Rather than abandoning their activity, these professionals can now opt for a wage portage contract and thus see their status change to enjoy many advantages.

More safety in the context of its activity

What often characterizes self-employment is insecurity about the future and the smooth running of one's professional projects. Indeed, if the activity of a freelancer stops, it is rare that he has the resources to turn around the time to find customers or to embark on a new path. This lack of security can be difficult to live with and make it more difficult to make plans for the future.

The wage portage contract will bring a real feeling of security. Indeed, the fact of being able to benefit from unemployment, to contribute to retirement, to have rights to training or to be able to take sick leave brings real comfort and real security. Considering the future becomes much more helpful and each difficult period can be crossed with a little more serenity. You can thus perform your services with more confidence in the future and plan for the longer term from a personal and professional point of view.

A real time saver

Time is very precious when running your own business. Indeed, all accounting and administrative tasks such as invoicing, declarations and payment of contributions and others require time to be devoted to them. However, this time spent is not remunerated, which can have a certain impact. With a wage portage contract, you can finally free yourself from many sometimes very complex tasks to devote yourself fully to the exercise of your services and the development of your company with commercial canvassing for example. Indeed, the umbrella company takes care of a lot of things, which allows you to free yourself from certain obligations.

Access to unemployment

Access to unemployment is often one of the most recognized advantages of a wage portage contract. Indeed, this allows a self-employed person to accumulate unemployment rights according to the length of the period worked and therefore to benefit from them in the event of a drop in activity. This is a very reassuring and comfortable possibility, which allows you to continue to receive remuneration and to devote yourself to commercial canvassing and the resumption of your activity, for example.

There are of course many other benefits of wage portage.

What type of wage portage contract is possible?

The wage portage contract can take different forms depending on what the company offers and the possibilities to which the self-employed person wishes to access.

Fixed-term wage portage employment contract

We can completely consider a fixed-term wage portage contract, or a fixed-term contract. This makes it possible to test wage portage over a limited period of time and to take the time to reflect before starting.

The provisions of the Labor Code therefore apply here with regard to the period of trial, compensatory indemnity for paid leave, conditions for early termination and termination indemnity. The CDD in wage portage can be renewed twice. A minimum duration must be provided for and it cannot exceed 18 months, including renewal.

Moreover, this fixed-term wage portage contract must include clauses on the relationship between the portage company and the employee carried, as well as clauses on the performance of the wage portage service.

The employment contract in wage portage for an indefinite period

The open-ended wage portage contract allows you to benefit from the same advantages as a permanent contract in a company. As its name suggests, its duration is indefinite, which allows the establishment of a long-term partnership.

As part of a permanent wage portage contract or CDI, most of the rules that apply to setting up a 'classic' permanent contract apply here. We must also find in the contract information such as:

  • The method of calculating the payment of the remuneration, the business contribution allowance, the social and tax charges, the management fees and professional fees, if applicable.
  • The method of deducting professional fees.
  • The description of the skills and qualifications of the employee concerned.
  • How to acquire, take and pay for paid leave.
  • Duration of the trial period.
  • Identification of the supplementary pension fund and the provident organization
  • to which the umbrella company belongs.
  • Etc.

The period without benefits from a client company is not not remunerated under a permanent wage portage contract.

The professionalization contract

Finally, it is also possible to access a professionalization contract in wage portage. This measure is implemented on an experimental basis until December 31, 2023. Here, the recruited employee is followed by a tutor in charge of his support. The latter must have a professional experience of at least 2 years.

Which contract to choose?

Apart from the professionalization contract which concerns a very specific target, i.e. students in training, it is very often between the fixed-term wage portage contract and the indefinite term wage portage contract that a freelancer will have to choose.

If he is sure of his choice and wants to fully benefit from all the advantages specific to wage portage, the CDI is most certainly the solution that will suit him best. If, on the other hand, he still has doubts about the operation of the portage, or simply about the portage company chosen, the CDD will be a good way to benefit from a test period before making his choice. It can also be renewed or you can also consider concluding a permanent contract afterwards if desired.

Calculate your salary

Salary simulation

Quel contrat en portage salarial ?

weepo - Contrat de portage salarial

Lorsqu’un freelance souhaite bénéficier des mêmes avantages qu’un salarié, il a aujourd’hui la possibilité d’envisager le portage salarial comme solution. Les salariés en portage salarial profitent en effet de nombreux avantages tant au niveau de la rémunération, que de l’assurance, la formation, le chômage, etc. Ce type de prestation est accessible sous différentes formes de contrat. Alors quel contrat de portage salarial faut-il choisir dans le cadre de son activité ? Quelles différences entre le portage ou le CDI ?

Qu’est-ce que le portage salarial ?

Le portage salarial est une solution proposée aux personnes qui réalisent des missions en indépendant afin qu’elle bénéficie des mêmes avantages que les salariés. En effet, un indépendant va pouvoir gérer ses prestations et clients en toute liberté, mais doit cependant gérer un certain nombre de tâches administratives et comptables dans le cadre de son activité.

Qui plus est, il n’a pas accès aux avantages que l’on retrouve dans le salariat comme la sécurité de l’emploi, le chômage, l’accès à une assurance santé intéressante, le remboursement des frais professionnels, etc. Si le fait d’être auto-entrepreneur convient très bien à certains professionnels, d’autres préfèreraient continuer d’alimenter leur chiffre d’affaires avec certains avantages, et c’est justement ce que propose le portage salarial.

Comment ça marche ?

Le portage salarial repose sur une relation tripartite entre la société de portage, l’indépendant et l’entreprise cliente. L’indépendant continue son démarchage commercial comme il en a l’habitude ainsi que la réalisation de ses prestations. Au lieu de facturer sa mission à l’entreprise cliente, c’est la société de portage qui va s’en charge. Elle va alors prélever un pourcentage sur le chiffre réalisé dans le cadre de la mission puis verser un salaire mensuel à l’indépendant. Ce dernier est lié à la société de portage par un contrat de travail, ce qui lui permet ainsi d’obtenir le statut de salarié.

En d’autres termes, l’indépendant change de statut en rejoignant la société de portage, mais continue de mener son activité comme il l’entend. La société de portage devient alors un intermédiaire entre l’indépendant et son client pour prendre en charge différentes démarches comptables et administratives et se charge également de la rémunération. L’entrepreneur va donc bénéficier d’un statut de salarié désormais, et donc de tous les avantages qui en découlent tout au long de la période durant laquelle il est sous contrat avec la société de portage.

Quels sont les avantages du portage salarial ?

Être freelance confère une grande liberté au quotidien, mais cela représente aussi certains inconvénients comme le fait d’être assez seul dans son activité d’indépendant, de devoir réaliser différentes tâches administratives et comptables, notamment liées à la facturation ou encore au paiement des cotisations, le tout, sans les avantages que l’on retrouve dans une entreprise au sens traditionnel du terme. Plutôt que d’abandonner leur activité, ces professionnels peuvent aujourd’hui opter pour un contrat de portage salarial et ainsi voir leur statut changer pour profiter de nombreux avantages.

Plus de sécurité dans le cadre de son activité

Ce qui caractérise bien souvent l’activité d’indépendant est l’insécurité quant à l’avenir et le bon déroulement de ses projets professionnels. En effet, si l’activité d’un indépendant s’arrête, il est rare qu’il dispose de ressources pour se retourner le temps de retrouver des clients ou de se lancer dans une nouvelle voie. Ce manque de sécurité peut être difficile à vivre et complexifier le fait de faire des projets d’avenir.

Le contrat de portage salarial va apporter une véritable sensation de sécurité. En effet, le fait de pouvoir bénéficier du chômage, de cotiser pour la retraite, d’avoir des droits à la formation ou encore de pouvoir se mettre en arrêt maladie apporte un véritable confort et une véritable sécurité. Envisager l’avenir devient beaucoup plus aidé et chaque période difficile peut être traversée avec un peu plus de sérénité. On peut ainsi réaliser ses prestations avec davantage de confiance en l’avenir et se projeter sur du plus long terme d’un point de vue personnel et professionnel.

Un véritable gain de temps

Le temps est quelque chose de très précieux lorsque l’on pilote sa propre activité. En effet, toutes les tâches comptables et administratives comme la facturation, les déclarations et paiements des cotisations et autres nécessitent d’y consacrer du temps. Ce temps passé n’est pourtant pas rémunéré, ce qui peut avoir un certain impact. Avec un contrat de portage salarial, on peut enfin s’affranchir de nombreuses tâches parfois très complexes pour se consacrer pleinement à l’exercice de ses prestations et au développement de son entreprise avec du démarchage commercial par exemple. En effet, la société de portage prend en charge un bon nombre de choses, ce qui permet de se libérer de certaines obligations.

L’accès au chômage

L’accès au chômage est bien souvent un des avantages les plus souvent reconnus au contrat de portage salarial. En effet, cela permet à un indépendant d’accumuler des droits de chômage selon la durée de période travaillée et donc d’en bénéficier en cas de baisse d’activité. Il s’agit d’une possibilité très rassurante et confortable, qui permet de continuer de percevoir une rémunération et de se consacrer au démarchage commercial et à la reprise de son activité par exemple.

Il existe bien entendu de nombreux autres avantages au portage salarial.

Quel type de contrat en portage salarial est possible ?

Le contrat de portage salarial peut prendre différentes formes en fonction de ce que propose l’entreprise et des possibilités auxquelles souhaite accéder l’indépendant.

Le contrat de travail en portage salarial à durée déterminée

On peut tout à fait envisager un contrat de portage salarial à durée déterminée, soit un CDD. Cela permet de tester le portage salarial sur une durée limitée et de prendre le temps de la réflexion avant de se lancer.

Ici s’appliquent donc les dispositions du Code du travail en ce qui concerne la période d’essai, l’indemnité compensatrice de congés payés, les conditions de rupture anticipée et l’indemnité de fin de contrat. Le CDD en portage salarial peut être renouvelé deux fois. Une durée minimale doit être prévue et elle ne peut pas excéder 18 mois, renouvellement compris.

Qui plus est, ce contrat de portage salarial à durée déterminée doit comporter des clauses sur la relation ente l’entreprise de portage et le salarié porté, ainsi que des clauses sur la réalisation de la prestation de service de portage salarial.

Le contrat de travail en portage salarial à durée indéterminée

Le contrat de portage salarial à durée indéterminée permet de bénéficier des mêmes avantages qu’un CDI en entreprise. Comme son nom l’indique, sa durée est indéterminée, ce qui permet la mise en place d’un partenariat sur la durée.

Dans le cadre d’un contrat de portage salarial à durée indéterminée ou CDI, l’essentiel des règles que l’on applique à la mise en place d’un CDI « classique » s’appliquent ici. On doit également retrouver dans le contrat des informations telles que :

  • Le mode de calcul du versement de la rémunération, de l’indemnité d’apport d’affaires, des charges sociales et fiscales, des frais de gestion et des frais professionnels s’il y a lieu.
  • Le mode de déduction des frais professionnels.
  • Le descriptif des compétences et qualifications du salarié porté.
  • Le mode d’acquisition, de prise et de paiement des congés payés.
  • La durée de la période d’essai.
  • L’identification de la caisse de retraite complémentaire et de l’organisme de prévoyance
  • dont relève la société de portage.
  • Etc.

La période sans prestations auprès d’une entreprise cliente ne sont pas rémunérées dans le cadre d’un contrat de portage salarial à durée indéterminée.

Le contrat de professionnalisation

Enfin, il est également possible d’accéder à un contrat de professionnalisation en portage salarial. Cette mesure est mise en œuvre à titre expérimental jusqu’au 31 décembre 2023. Ici, le salarié recruté est suivi par un tuteur en charge de son accompagnement. Ce dernier doit justifier d’une expérience professionnelle d’au moins 2 ans.

Quel contrat choisir ?

Hormis le contrat de professionnalisation qui concerne une cible bien spécifique, soit des étudiants en formation, c’est bien souvent entre le contrat de portage salarial à durée déterminée et le contrat de portage salarial à durée indéterminée qu’un indépendant va devoir choisir.

S’il est sûr de son choix et qu’il souhaite pleinement bénéficier de tous les avantages propres au portage salarial, le CDI est très certainement la solution qui lui correspondra le mieux. Si en revanche il a encore des doutes sur le fonctionnement du portage, ou simplement sur la société de portage choisie, le CDD sera un bon moyen de bénéficier d’une période de test avant de faire son choix. Il peut par ailleurs être renouvelé ou l’on peut également envisager de conclure un CDI par la suite si souhaité.

Calculez votre revenu
en toute transparence

Simulateur